If you recently discovered you could no longer have gluten and are now wondering whether to throw away the mayonnaise in your kitchen, this could be a good place to start.
Well, Mayonnaise generally does not contain gluten. The three main ingredients in mayo; eggs, vinegar/lemon juice, and oil; are all gluten-free. So, you can relax.
However, gluten contamination is possible, especially during the production process in factories that handle gluten-containing products.
Homemade mayonnaise can also contain gluten due to the use, or addition, of gluten-containing ingredients such as malt vinegar.
It is, therefore, always advisable to read the labels on mayonnaise containers to ensure that the dressing is gluten-free before purchasing or using it.
What is Gluten, and Why is it Important?
With the recent healthy-eating movement that has taken the world by its horns since the beginning of the millennium, people have become more aware of the foods they eat.
So many diets have been formulated to either indulge in or restrict the consumption of certain foods such as dairy, meat, eggs, and sugars.
Gluten is not any different. Some people cannot eat it, while some do not want to. So what is gluten?
Gluten is a type of protein present in mainly three cereals; wheat, rye, and barley. Gluten is naturally occurring in these cereals and is the reason why wheat flour for example, holds together when mixed with water. It is a binding agent.
But if gluten is just for keeping the flour together, what is the big deal about it?
Well, remember that gluten is a protein, a very significant food group that the body needs to break down and absorb for functioning.
However, not all bodies can properly digest gluten either due to allergies, sensitivity, or a malfunction caused by celiac disease.
Why is Gluten Important?
If you are a person with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, you should know what foods contain the gluten protein so that you can avoid them completely.
Eating gluten with celiac disease, for instance, worsens symptoms in your body, and extreme reactions could lead to long-term health complications.
How does one know that they have gluten sensitivity?
Having celiac disease or general gluten sensitivity can be hard to detect, especially if you do not have other underlying issues.
However, you might notice some signs or changes in your body once you eat foods high in gluten, such as bread, cakes, biscuits, etc.
Some of the symptoms include:
- Abdominal pain
- Skin rashes
- Irritable Bowels
If you notice these symptoms occurring, especially after eating certain foods, seek medical help as soon as possible to know how to manage the condition.
Luckily, if gluten is the only thing your body does not agree with, eliminating gluten-containing foods may alleviate the symptoms and greatly improve your health.
Is Mayonnaise Naturally Gluten-Free?
The three main ingredients of regular mayonnaise are naturally gluten-free, making mayonnaise gluten-free as well.
That said, it is always important to read the labels on mayonnaise containers to be certain.
The Food and Drug Administration requires mayonnaise manufacturers to state if their products have gluten or not.
Line production contamination often occurs in some cases, and it is only reasonable for the manufacturers to warn their consumers.
Some mayonnaise may also have gluten, thanks to the oils or vinegar used. Although distilled or cider vinegar is the usual vinegar option for making mayonnaise, all kinds of vinegar are viable.
If malt vinegar is used, for instance, then the mayonnaise will have gluten, and it will not be safe for people following a gluten-free diet.
Another way mayonnaise can have accidental contamination by gluten is if a jar of mayonnaise is shared among many people in a kitchen.
If a person uses a knife to spread mayo on bread, the crumbs can get into the mayonnaise, making it unsafe. To avoid this, you can get mayonnaise in a squeezable bottle that is harder to contaminate.
Basic Ingredients in Mayonnaise
Making mayonnaise at home is easy and cost-effective because the ingredients are always readily available and affordable.
Regular mayo only needs eggs, oil, and vinegar or lemon juice. Mustard is also becoming a regular mayo component.
However, for enhanced taste and better keeping, some people add different spices and herbs including basil, cloves, garlic, and sesame oil, among others. Some of these additions could have gluten.
Gluten-Free Mayo Brands
Since regular mayo may have additives that could contain gluten, some brands strictly make gluten-free mayonnaise.
With these brands, you do not have to check the labels (although you should) because they are intentional in their gluten-free production.
Most mayo brands that do not have mayo will have labels reading gluten-free, free from gluten, without gluten, or no gluten.
Here is a list of top 8 gluten-free mayonnaise brands you should check out:
|Hellmann’s||Arguably the most common mayonnaise brand, all Hellman’s mayo are gluten-free and are labeled so. Examples include: Light Mayonnaise, Mayonnaise Dressing with Olive Oil and Real Mayonnaise.|
|Sir Kensington’s||The Sir Kensington’s Classic Mayo is not only gluten-free, it also uses free-range eggs, which are often more organic and healthy.|
|Best Foods||Most Best Food Mayonnaise options have no gluten and use cage-free eggs. The Best Foods Real Mayonnaise is a great gluten free example. It goes especially well with sandwiches.|
|Kewpie||With a cult following, Kewpie Mayonnaise is among the most loved mayonnaise brands in America, Asia, and around the world. Kewpie Mayo make their condiments with gluten-free and Non GMO products.|
|Primal Kitchen||The Primal Kitchen Real Mayonnaise with Avocado Oil is not only gluten-free, it is also plant based and entirely keto-friendly.|
|Stokes||Stokes Real Mayonnaise is made with extra virgin oil and is a tasty option for a no-gluten diet. It is also slightly more affordable compared to bigger brands like Hellmann’s.|
|Lucky Foods||If you are a vegan spice-lover, then the Kimchi Mayo by Lucky Foods is something you should definitely try. Not only does it not contain gluten, it is also egg free and contains plant-based ingredients only.|
|Better Body Foods||Just like Primal Kitchen’s Mayo, the Best Body Foods Mayonnaise is made with avocado oil, paleo, and cage-free eggs. It is certified gluten-free and quite delicious as a dressing.|
Is Eggless Mayo Gluten-Free?
There are many reasons why one might prefer having eggless mayonnaise. Egg allergies, vegan diets, spiritual beliefs, and animal rights activism are some of the said reasons.
Some people may dislike the taste and smell of eggs. Whatever the reason, eggless mayo is a great alternative to regular mayonnaise.
Instead of eggs, condensed milk, aquafaba, or soy milk are used. Homemade eggless mayo has a short shelf life and should be used within two days of production, even if refrigerated.
So is eggless mayo gluten-free? Absolutely. Eggless mayonnaise is still gluten-free unless gluten-containing ingredients are added to the condiment.
Is Mayo Vegan?
Regular mayonnaise is not vegan since one of its main ingredients is eggs. Vegans follow a strict plant-based diet that eliminates the consumption of all animal products, including dairy, such as cheese.
Vegans are a stricter version of vegetarians (who stays away from meat, mainly eating plant-based foods, but still take animal products such as milk and eggs).
There are, however, vegan-friendly mayonnaises that use plant-only ingredients, which are vegan-friendly. A good Examples of vegan mayo is the Hellmann’s Vegan Dressing and SpreadUrban Platter Vegan Tandoori Mayo
Is Mayonnaise Healthy?
The health benefits of mayonnaise fully depend on the ingredients used in making the mayo. Since there are many types and recipes for mayonnaise, we will look at the health benefits (or lack thereof) of regular mayonnaise, which contains eggs, vinegar, and oil.
Read Also: Are Eggs Considered Meat? Why is It Important?
Below is a summary of the health benefits:
- The eggs contained in mayonnaise are a great source of nutrients such as protein, carotene, calcium, and vitamins B and D.
- Eggs also contain cholesterol which in excessive amounts could be harmful to your body. However, research shows that the cholesterol in eggs is good and can even aid in preventing heart disease.
- Vinegar has many health benefits, including weight management, controlling blood sugar levels, and reducing chances of harmful cell growth.
- Most cooking oils used in making mayonnaise are plant-based and help with digestion, preventing cardiovascular complications, and providing omega-3 fatty acids necessary for body growth and development.
It’s, however, important to note that excessive use of mayonnaise can lead to obesity and increased blood cholesterol levels that could cause heart failure.